bay area


Danielle Farinacci photo 

President, Danielle Farinacci (Lick-Wilmerding High School)

Danielle is the Head Librarian at Lick-Wilmerding High School in San Francisco. Prior to her appointment there in 2017 she worked at Sacred Heart Cathedral Prep for 9 years. Danielle has been an active BAISL member, recently serving on the planning team for the joint POCIS-BAISL roundtable in January. Over the past 5 years, Danielle has generously presented at various meeting covering everything from increasing database usage and efficiency to AASL standards. One of her favorite books is All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr. As a librarian, she loves the opportunity to open new worlds to students and teachers. Outside the library, Danielle is an avid cyclist and loves to write children's stories for fun.

Junia Ziblay photo 

President-Elect, Junia Ziblay (The Marin School)

Junia credits her love of reading to being read to incessantly as a child. Her devotion to literature and fervor for learning have culminated in a deep desire to share her passion with the next generation. After studying abroad in England and receiving her BA with honors in English Literature, she returned to the U.S. and became a tutor and library assistant. She soon heeded her true calling and completed a Master's in Library and Information Sciences at San José State University. With a strong foundation of project management in fields as diverse as event organization, photography, technology conferences, and live theatre, Junia combined her tools and talents and became an Information Professional. After ten years of being a pre-K through 8th grade Librarian at Marin Primary & Middle School, supporting students with a variety of learning styles, it became evident that she was drawn to working with high school students. She joined The Marin School in 2018 and is grateful for the opportunity to support an exemplary faculty and staff as well as an extraordinary student body. She has been an active member and presenter at BAISL meetings and highly values being a part of such a vibrant community.

Alison Anson photo 

Treasurer, Alison Anson (Sacred Heart Schools, Atherton)

Alison is the librarian for the PSK-8th Grade Stevens Library at Sacred Heart Schools, Atherton. She started at SHS in 2013 after many years in the San Mateo County Library System. She enjoys bringing live authors and illustrators to meet students and talk about their creative journeys.

Brooke Heskett photo 

Secretary, Brooke Heskett (De La Salle High School)

Brooke is the Associate Librarian at De La Salle High School, where she works with grades 9-12. She also has experience in both acadmic and public libraries and has been a member of BAISL since 2017. Prior to her work in libraries, Brooke was a legal secretary for 8 years. She is passionate about building a warm, welcoming, inclusive and respectful environment, as well as helping students to navigate the vast information landscape. She loves reading, research, and even doing citations!

Jessica Simons photo 

Communications Director, Jessica Chun (Moreau Catholic High School)

Jessica has been the head librarian at Moreau Catholic High School in Hayward for 8 years. Previously she was the library assistant at The Athenian School. She has been an active member of BAISL for several years, sharing her maker space expertise at meetings, hosting a meeting, as well as serving on the Overdrive Committee. Neil Gaiman is one of Jessica’s favorite authors. In the library she loves helping students find whatever resources they need, whether it's a book, a database article, or a tool in the Moreau Maker Lab. In her freetime she enjoys designing and making earrings on her 3D printer and laser cutter.

Member Libraries

© 2020 Bay Area Independent School Librarians

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software